Recast | Nancy Murray elected Faculty chair for ’21-’22

From: “Caraher, John” <>
Date: Wednesday, June 2, 2021 at 5:43 PM

Dear Colleagues,

Based on the tally at 5:00 PM,  when the Canvas voting was originally set to end, Nancy Murray held a 1-vote lead. While the AC deliberated about how to take account of votes that came in during the short window I added to accommodate a faculty member who had not yet enrolled in the Canvas Spring faculty group, as well as a vote that had to be submitted via email because the on-contract faculty member was not given a Canvas invitation to the Spring voting faculty group, Carolyn sent a message withdrawing from consideration. I want to thank both Carolyn and Nancy for their willingness to serve, and congratulate Nancy on becoming the next Faculty Chair.

Because Nancy was just elected to a 2-year term on the Agenda Committee, there is now a vacancy for that position, which we expect to fill via a vote in an early Fall faculty meeting.

Incidentally, in our examination of the electronic “hanging chads,” we found no principled way to count for disputable votes that resulted in any outcome other than a 1-2 vote edge for Nancy.

It has been an honor and privilege to serve you as chair. I’d like to thank the outgoing and continuing members of the Agenda Committee for their stellar work – everyone pitched in – and am excited to see a great group of new members joining for ’21-’22.


John Caraher

Member of the Faculty (Physics)

Faculty Chair, 2019-2021

The Evergreen State College

You may also like...